Divorce Law Basics in the State of Alaska
Also See: Alaska Marriage Laws
- Irretrievable breakdown
- Failure to consummate
- Conviction of a felony
- Wilful desertion for at least 1 year
- Habitual gross drunkeness contracted after the marriage and continuing for at least one year prior to filing
- Incurable mental illness and confinement to a mental institution for at least 18 months prior to filing
- Habitual drug abuse contracted after the marriage and continuing at the time of filing
- Filing party must be a resident at time of filing
Legal Separation Recognized?
- Alaska relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner” if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
- Alimony may be awarded to either party and is at the discretion of the judge. While the judge is not required to consider fault when determining alimony, the conduct of the parties can be a factor in the decision process.
Alaska State Divorce Code: (Title 25, Chapter 24): legis.state.ak.us