Divorce Law Basics in the State of Michigan
Also See: Michigan Marriage Laws
Statute: Michigan State Divorce Code (Chapter 552): legislature.mi.gov
No-Fault Grounds: Irretreivable breakdown
Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state for at least 180 days and a resident of the county for at least 10 days prior to filing
Legal Separation Recognized? Yes, but only if a petition for divorce has not been filed.
Property Distribution: Michigan relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner” if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party and is at the discretion of the judge.