Arkansas Divorce Laws 10

In: Arkansas

Divorce Law Basics in the State of Arkansas

Also See:

Arkansas Marriage Laws

Statute:

Arkansas State Divorce Code (Title 9, Subtitle 2, Chapter 12)

No-Fault Grounds:

  • Living apart for 18 continuous months without cohabitating (does not matter if separation was mutual or the voluntary act of only one spouse)

At-Fault Grounds:

  • Impotence (must have been impotent at the time of the marriage and at the time of filing)
  • Conviction of a felony
  • Habitual drunkeness for one year
  • Cruel and barbarous treatment that endangers the life of the other spouse
  • Cruel and indignant behavoir seen to be intolerable by the other spouse
  • Adultery

Residency:

Filing party must be a resident for at least 60 days prior to filing and divorce will not be finalized until after a 3 month waiting period.

Legal Separation Recognized? Yes

Counseling Requirement:

Parents who are divorcing must agree to complete at least 2 hours of parenting classes or agree to mediation to settle custody and visitation issues.

Discussion

10 Responses to “Arkansas Divorce Laws”

Leave a Reply to Sam Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *