Also See: New Jersey Marriage Laws
Statute: New Jersey State Divorce Code (Title 2A, Chapters 34.8 & 34.10)
Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state for at least 1 year prior to filing unless the divorce is sought on the grounds of adultery in which case the 1 year waiting period is removed.
Counseling Requirements: The court shall require the parties to attend mediation if it appears that reconciliation is possible; the court shall also order the parties to attend parenting education classes if a minor child is involved.
Property Distribution: New Jersey relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner” if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party at the discretion of the court.