Also See: Utah Marriage Laws
Statute: Utah State Divorce Code (Title 30, Chapter 3): le.utah.gov
Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state and county for at least three months prior to filing
Counseling Requirements: The court may require the parties to attend a mandatory educational course when children are involved
Property Distribution: Utah relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party at the discretion of the court. Fault may be considered.
alienation of affection and criminal discussion in Utah. Is the law current and being used. RE adultry and financial compensation from 3 rd party.?Long term marriage, adult children but very close family with 2 still at home because we all enjoy each other.
my father inlaw has been separated with his wife for over 7 years what should he do so he doesnt have to pay very much and doesnt have to give her anything. they have been married 16 years.