Nevada Divorce Laws 3

In: Nevada

Divorce Law Basics in the State of Nevada

Nevada State Divorce Code (Title 11, Chapter 125) (leg.state.nv.us)

No-Fault Grounds:

  • The parties have lived apart for at least one year without cohabitation
  • Incompatibility

At-Fault Grounds:

  • Proof of insanity existing for two years prior to filing.

Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state for at least 6 weeks prior to filing

Legal Separation Recognized? Yes. A party may seek legal separation if he or she has a cause for divorce or if he or she has been deserted for at least 90 days.

Property Distribution: Nevada is a community property state. You and your spouse may modify the distribution of property by creating a separate agreement; otherwise, the court will distribute the property equally. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.

Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party and is at the discretion of the judge.

Discussion

3 Responses to “Nevada Divorce Laws”

Leave a Reply to Shan Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.