Also See: North Carolina Marriage Laws
Statute: North Carolina State Divorce Code (Chapter 50, Article 1, Sections 1, 6, 7 & 8): ncga.state.nc.us
Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state for at least 6 months prior to filing
Legal Separation Recognized? Yes, must be in writing. Alimony, property distribution and child support can be awarded.
Counseling Requirements: The court shall require the parties to attend parenting education classes if a minor child is involved.
Property Distribution: North Carolina relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party at the discretion of the court. Fault is considered.
me and my husband been separated since march 11 and we have 2 kids age 17 13 I have no property with him I am on the deed of the house that is all. I will file for the divorce what if he does not sign does the divorce go throught?
i have been married 33 years and my husband has been cheating on me for two years. i am bipolar and can’t handle anything upsetting, i want a divorce and so does he but we have not lived a part for a year, just in seperate bedrooms and no sex in twi years, i just want to get it over with, can we get a do it yourself divorce and not live apart for a year? all kids are grown, my 20 year old goes to community college and lives at home. this is cousing me health issues, i do not sleep and cannot eat i have continuous panic attacks.