Also See: Oklahoma Marriage Laws
Statute: Oklahoma State Divorce Code (Title 43, Sections 101, 102 & 103)
Residency: Either party must be a resident of the state for at least 6 months prior to filing
Legal Separation Recognized? Yes, for the causes for which a divorce would be granted. Alimony, property distribution and child support can be awarded.
Remarriage Provisions: Neither party can marry another other than the divorced spouse for a period of six months after the divorce decree has been granted.
Counseling Requirements: The court shall require the parties to attend parenting education classes if a minor child is involved.
Property Distribution: Oklahoma relies on “equitable distribution” so the court will distribute the marital property “in an equitable manner if the parties can’t agree on their own. Separate property (property acquired prior to the marriage, as a gift or through inheritance) is not included in property distribution.
Alimony: Alimony may be awarded to either party at the discretion of the court.
ex and i seperated over 15 years ago i filed for divorce 3 times with do it yourself divorce kits he threw them away each time. am i free to get married again
all has been notorized and signed off on by both parties in OK and AR .
How long does it take to get the decree in OK? Is there a waiting period befor you can get in front of a judge….then to speed it up they will go to Arkansas to marry quick as they need it done asp please